George Washington
Carver Award
George Washington Carver stamp
Background about the Innovation Award

George Washington Carver was an agricultural chemist, experimenter, and inventor whose development of new products derived from peanuts, sweet potatoes, and soybeans helped revolutionize the agricultural economy of the South. For much of his career, Mr. Carver taught and conducted research at the Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute (now Tuskegee University) in Tuskegee, Alabama.

When Rubicon established its annual George Washington Carver Award in honor of a man who dedicated his life’s work to innovating and challenging the norms of our society, we did so under the premise that at Rubicon, we not only encourage innovation and creative thinking in all of its forms, but we also challenge team members to set the bar, and their personal goals, high. It could be said that Mr. Carver was one of the early adopters of Rubicon’s mission to end waste by taking a peanut and creating more than 100 different repurposed or reinvented ways to leverage that peanut—from using fibers from the peanut plant to make paper, to the creation of some early plastics and dyes. With this mission of inventing, exploring, and inspiring, it is with great honor that Rubicon annually recognizes one employee through the process of peer nomination and selection to be named the recipient of the George Washington Carver Innovation Award.

Ryan Cooper
Ryan Cooper
Ryan Cooper, who frequently speaks at conferences and events, and writes for the Rubicon blog, always looks far and wide for solutions to divert our customers’ food waste from landfill. From working with local farmers to finding the latest onsite technology, Ryan is a trusted expert in his field. Ryan is a huge resource for all of us at Rubicon, and he is always willing to help others in any way he can. He is respected by his peers and his vendors because of his hard work and dedication to ending waste.

Read More about Ryan

Historical Winners
Ashish Juneja (2018)


Defined by our employees, these seven essential values guide everything we do.

  • be

  • embrace

  • be humble &

  • Advocate for

  • do what
    you say

  • embrace

  • serve the